Book review: The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar

The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar

Read on August 30th, 2015.

5 / 5 stars

Goodreads description: They say it takes 21 days to form a habit.
They lie.
For 21 days she held on.
But on Day 22, she would have given anything for the sweet slumber of death.
Because on Day 22, she realizes that her only way out means certain death for one of the two men she loves.

A haunting tale of passion, loss, and redemption, The Paper Swan is a darkly intense yet heartwarming love story, textured with grit, intrigue, and suspense. Please note: This is NOT a love triangle.

When I read the description to this book, I was totally confused. It didn’t make any sense to me as I didn’t actually know what it was about. But when I started reading it, I realized it was actually better that was – going into it without knowing pretty much anything about it.

Stockholm syndrome and kidnapping itself was always something that intrigued me. I enjoy books that deal with it even though they are really something heavy and depressing – a book after which you just have to pick up some light romance.

It happened all over again. the feelings, the confusion, even a bit of disgust. I may be a masochist but I love that kind of bad-boy-goes-good books. Quite some time ago, I’ve read Stolen by Lucy Christopher and enjoyed it a lot. I felt the same way with this book, but I wasn’t nearly as sad at the end as I was with the first one.

Some parts were really unbelievable to me and if you’ve read the book, you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about. It seems so unrealistic but I soon realized that those kinds of things happen a lot. And what I’m talking about is kidnaps, murders, kids being forced to steal or even kill just because they’re not in position to decline. It’s all around us but people don’t really talk about it. I think that’s the saddest part about all of it.

This book deals with a lot of heavy topics but, somehow, it was brought to us in a kind of artistic and wonderful way. I couldn’t stop thinking about it, still can’t! All my friends have gotten bored of me talking about it 😛

The reason why I’ve waited for a while to review this book is because I wanted to wrap my thought on it. I wanted to think some things clearly one more time. Of course, my reviews are NEVER nearly as good written as they sound in my head. But, what can we do…

I kind of predicted the ending, but still it was very shocking and surprising. My heart beat throughout the whole book and when I finished it, I just stared at the ceiling (with a smirk on my face as there was a happy ending) and just stayed that way for like an hour.

Even though this book only recently came out, I wonder why isn’t it any more popular. I can see a bright future for it and I hope more people will find the twisted beauty in it the way I did.


The Paper Swan: http://www.bookdepository.com/Paper-Swan-Leylah-Attar/9780993752773

3 thoughts on “Book review: The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar

  1. I read Stolen a few years ago and it totally broke my heart! I think it’s a really clever writer to make us relate and even sympathise with a person who has done something so awful as to kidnap another person. This book sounds intriguing! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

