Refugee crisis in Croatia

So, yesterday, I heard about the crisis about refugees in my country Croatia and that they are in town very close to me where I go to school. I didn’t think what to expect until I saw it with my own eyes.

14 000 people in a very small town, sitting all around the bus station and literally everywhere around the town. It was so sad to see and even more shocking was that I didn’t know what to do about it. There is a lot of small children with their mothers who just don’t know what to do anymore.

People were sleeping around the parks, on the ground and everywhere they could. They are so tired and hungry and thirsty.

Croatia – and my town, Beli Manastir, specifically – has very unproffesionally taken care of this situation. They are unprepared, they only have food and water for a small amount of people.

Yesterday, a lot of people were being driven to other places but there’s still a lot of people coming to Beli Manastir and Croatia, itself.

So, if you’re from around there, please help them by donating something, anything. My school was collecting stuff yesterday and my friend from the Red Cross told me they were getting a lot of donations but also, a lot more are still needed. Donate anything you can, canned food, hygiene products for babies and women, baby food, jams, blankets and clothes. Water is also very needed and it doesn’t have to be a store-bought one, those people are thirty and they don’t really care. Donate it to the Red Cross. 

Yesterday, my friend gave a refugee man a bottle of water and the man wanted to pay him 40€, of course my friend declined. But many people don’t, they are just using them to get more money.

People pay 25€ for 2 liters of water in a store, that’s just ridiculous and sad that some people use those poor people in this situation. Just terrible!

Also, a lot of them have become very aggressive due the lack of sleep. They’ve been throwing rock at each other and many people have killed themselves. It makes me so sad.

So, if you’re in a situation to, please help them. They really do need us. They’ve been traveling for months.

If you want to read more about that, read this post: http://news.yahoo.com/croatia-seeks-redirect-migrants-toward-hungary-slovenia-110932776.html As I don’t know a lot about the latest situation and people moving towards boarders.

3 thoughts on “Refugee crisis in Croatia

Leave a Reply

