Book Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell


5 stars

Goodreads description: Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.


I loved this. I love everything Rainbow Rowell writes. Thanks for writing such a perfection.

In the beginning, I wasn’t so sure about this book. I wouldn’t say I didn’t like how it started but it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

When Baz came, though, it all changed.

At the beginning, I thought this was gonna be same as Harry Potter. But, with every page I flipped I didn’t think of this as a Harry Potter styled book, this was just something new. And I liked it.

This was sooo funny and made me want to befriend both Simon and Penny. They seemed like a type of people I’d usually hang out with and are both perfect types of friends.

I loved Penny but I didn’t like Agatha. Mostly because she wasn’t very honest about anything (about her relationship with Simon, her friendship with Penny and many other things).

The fantasy part of this was pretty good. I found myself laughing out loud at the names of the spells which were all so hilarious. I mean, who’d come up with that!

The romance part was even better. I love myself some angsty gay romance and that is usually what I’ve gotten from this book. Also, I love hate-to-love relationship (although Baz never hated Simon ^-^). I liked the fact that Simon kissed Baz first even though he wasn’t sure if he was gay.

The last 100 pages of the book, I was really confused. If you ask me to tell you what happened, I wouldn’t do it very well. I should probably re-read that last part.


All in one, a really good book and everything you’d expect from Rainbow Rowell but with far more magick (you see what I did there). You don’t have to, but please do read Fangirl before reading this because it will make it much better and Fangirl is also a great book.


Carry On: http://www.bookdepository.com/Carry-on-Rainbow-Rowell/9781447299318

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I just finished reading this yesterday and it was utter perfection. I totally agree with everything you’ve said. I would definitely read books about them just being happy and going to college and drinking tea though. Ugh, I loved it so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really want to read this at some point! I’ve read Fangirl so I’m intrigued to see what she was fangirling about haha 😀 I love your reviews, just started following your blog – I’m looking forward to reading more! And can I just say your name “bookahontas” is genius (Disney fan over here)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

