Book Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer

13206900

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

5 / 5 stars

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?


This review contains spoilers so if you haven’t already read the book, don’t read the review.


This was absolutely fantastic. The book was a bit too big for my liking and it took me a while to get through it but I still loved it.

I loved Winter and her delusions were very interesting thing to read for me. I loved her relationship with Jacin and the two of them are for sure my favorite couple in the whole series.

Her talk and the way she treated her stepmother, Levana, was just so amazing. I love you, Winter, mostly because you’re so peculiar.


Then we’ve got Cress and Thorne, my second favorite couple. Maybe I wished to see a bit more of two of those but I still liked the way their love for each other grew and how they FINALLY told each other how they really feel.

Thorne stayed his usual witty, flirtatious self and Cress stayed as cute and shy as always.


Then come Cinder and Kai whom I’ve been loving and cheering for ever since the first book.

I love Cinder and her transformation from a mere cyborg to a princess of Luna. She is just so powerful and I want to be like her so much. She fought for what she believed and in the end, she succeeded. She shows us that it doesn’t matter what you are. What matters is what you want and how strong would you fight for what you want.


We also have Scarlet and Wolf – the only people in the series I didn’t like at all. When I read Scarlet, I wasn’t that much impressed about her. I didn’t get the vibe I got when I read about every other princess/MC. I found the parts talking about her and Wolf a bit boring.

I don’t like Scarlet but I like her relationship with Winter. She hated her and first but that hatred soon transformed into love and friendship.


I have been anticipating this book for so long and know I have finally read it.

I can’t say I’m not sad, I’m actually devastated that such a great series has ended. On the other side, I’m happy because I was able to see what happened with my favorite book characters.

This book had a major influence on my life. I have not only named my cat Cinder and colored my nails the color of the night sky when Winter came out, it also taught me some valuable lesson such as friendship and selflessness.


Thank you, Marissa Meyer, for writing such a great book series. I will never forget it.


 

Winter by Marissa Meyer: http://www.bookdepository.com/Winter-Mariss-Meyer/9780141340241

Leave a Reply

