Book Review: Rival by Penelope Douglas

18129852

Rival (Fall Away, #2) by Penelope Douglas 

*SPOILER ALERT* Please don’t read this review unless you’ve read the previous books as this contains spoilers


 

4 stars


Goodreads description: Madoc and Fallon. Two estranged teenagers playing games that push the boundaries between love and war…

She’s back.

For the two years she’s been away at boarding school, there was no word from her. Back when we lived in the same house, she used to cut me down during the day and then leave her door open for me at night.

I was stupid then, but now I’m ready to beat her at her own game…

I’m back.

Two years and I can tell he still wants me, even if he acts like he’s better than me.

But I won’t be scared away. Or pushed down. I’ll call his bluff and fight back. That’s what he wants, right? As long as I keep my guard up, he’ll never know how much he affects me….


Wow, this was interesting.

It was quite good actually and I assumed he had a girl Fallon because of the tattoo Jared talked about in Until You that should say Fallen but the flames on the ‘e’ made it look more like Fallon. I was right!

I enjoyed Fallon’s characters quite a lot. She is a girl I’d hang out with.

What was strange to me that they all had such a good music taste. Where can you find friends like that right now?!!

I think that everything was mixed up to me ’till the end because it looked like Spanish soap opera – everyone was everyone’s father and/or brother and it was a bit too much, I must say.

Also, too much sex. I am aware that this is New Adult but could you please have a conversation without jumping on his d*ck or touching her breast. If we took out 30% of the sex scenes from the book there would still be too much of it. Just sayin’.

I liked it, though, and I read it in such a small amount of time because I was hooked and wanted to know what would happen. It’s a good book, not my favorite romance of all time but it was still good.

Also, I really want to read Falling away, the third book. It sounds so wonderful! I can’t wait to read it!


 

 

 

Rival: http://www.bookdepository.com/Rival-Penelope-Douglas/9780349405810

Leave a Reply

